Bug 46419

GemStone/S 64 Bit

3.3.1, 3.3, 3.2.16, 3.2.15, 3.2.14, 3.2.13, 3.2.12, 3.2.11, 3.2.10, 3.2.9, 3.2.x, 3.1.0.6, 3.1.x, earlier versions

3.3.3

Client exit during login results in clean exit/log deletion

During the login process, after the gem log is created but before the login completes, if the client exits then the Gem sees this as an error. However, since the client may have elected to exit, this may not actually be an error; so this category of error is treated as a clean exit, to avoid false positives.

This means that if there is an actual fatal error in the client during the login, this is still considered a clean Gem exit, not a Gem error. To make diagnosis easier, as of v3.3.3 the Gem log, which would normally be deleted on a clean exit, is kept for the case where the client process cannot be contacted.


Last updated: 12/7/16